A letter to the garden that I left behind

spicysaturday

 

garden

 

My beloved garden,

I left you behind with a very heavy heart when I moved from the city that I lived in for two years. And move I had to. But how I miss you! Not a day goes by when I don’t think of you , when I don’t yearn to be with you. The first thing I would do after waking up would be to open the door leading to you and greet you with a smile, thanking each new flower for gracing us. From the moment I would wake up, I would wait for my favorite part of the day, sitting on the chair in the verandah , sipping hot tea and gazing at you. You, surrounded by the white picket fence that I always wished for, the wish fulfilled by my dear husband.

How are the Frangipani plants doing?  The plants that were on their way to becoming young trees when I left. How I had waited and waited for these frangipani/champa plants to gift me with some flowers! How I had rejoiced and laughed happily when I came to greet you one morning and saw the beautiful first flower that smiled at me! I remember rushing inside and bringing my husband out with me, to show him the wonder that had blessed us. The white, virginal and pristine flower which infused a warm glow in my whole being. The hibiscus plants nearby had also started gracing us with pink and red flowers. I hope they are surviving well. The golden yellow hedge which grew from a tiny baby into a lovely cheerful fully grown magnificience. And yes, the various bougainvillas must be growing by leaps and bounds now, begining to cover the iron fencing.

Are the Jasmine bushes flowering? They had been planted with a meticulously measured distance between each of them . The  divine perfume from their flowers made my evenings serene as I would walk past them and sit on my favorite swing. They lent an intoxicating smell to the air in my home. Is the creeper in front of the verandah full of flame coloured flowers now? How desperately we tried to save it from withering, and succeeded twice. What about the sadabahar/periwinkle flowers? Are they flourishing as they were, when I was there? We had planted them in seperate spheres of earth, dug out under the bedroom window.These brave flowers showed up even on the coldest and harshest of days, glorifying the resilience of life. Is the Papaya tree growing nicely? And how is the Rockery? I hope the different coloured hedges planted in it’s different levels are flourishing. Do the 4 P.M. plants flower every evening, justifying their name?

The Kaner plant that we shifted from a pot to the ground at the entrance was already almost a tree. How beautiful it looked, laden with yellow flowers! And the Morning Glory creeper that covered the entire fence near the gate, is it healthy? A spectacle of a blue flowery fence awaited me each morning when I would come to stand at the gate alongwith my kids, waiting for their school bus to arrive. Oh, how lovely it made my mornings! Do you remember the laughter of my children as they rushed out to you daily, with joy in their heart. Do you remember the admiring glances from the passers-by as they took in your glory? Do you remember my pride for you?

It is in your lap that I sat on countless nights, crying, after my mother died. It is you whose peace seeped into me, during those nights. Those nights that were the darkest ever in my life. Your silent presence assured me that I was not alone out there in the dark. I thank you from the bottom of my heart, my dear garden. May you continue to give happiness to all the future residents of the house. May you always bless their children with happiness, like you blessed my children. And I promise, I will come to meet you once again. Amen.

© Jun 2016 Sapna Dhyani Devrani

Author: Sapna Dhyani

I am Sapna Dhyani. A Pocketful Of Dreams is my personal blog and I write about everything that crosses my mind. I write about life as I see it and like to infuse humour into my blogs. I belong to Dehradun but now live in a new city after every two years, being an army wife. This uprooting of base every couple of years, setting up a new home in a new place, meeting new people and forging new friendships, exploring new cities; all this ensures that I go through and am blessed with a myriad of experiences.

2 thoughts on “A letter to the garden that I left behind”

  1. Dear Sapna !Your letter to the garden brings to my memory the farewell scene of Abhigyan Shakuntalam where Shakuntala fervently expresses her love and concern for the trees , flowers and other inmates of the ashram where she had been brought up . How she was speaking to and embracing each of them before leaving the place .The same intensity of love , care and concern has been depicted in your ” letter ”. I do hope , with your inherent love for nature , you must have started creating a new garden in the place you are now . May it grow and blossom with godspeed and compensate for the one left behind . All the best !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Dr Nautiyal,
      Thank you for the feedback. Your words have inspired me to read the scene mentioned by you.When I do manage that, I will surely get back to you. Yes, I have started creating a garden again, but restraining myself from going the whole length as we will be moving again in a few months.Meanwhile, am focussing on reviving the plants.
      Thanks and regards 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

